Quarter Century

17 Apr

Anyone who knows me also knows that my birthday is without a doubt my favorite day of the year. Maybe it is the only child in me or maybe I really do crave attention, but a day dedicated to celebrating you, come on what’s not to love? My birthday parties always involved spectacular themes, meticulous planning and a to-die-for gift bag – and we’re talking single digit birthdays. In college I started thinking, why celebrate one day when you can celebrate all weekend? And if we’re going that far, why stop at the weekend? (I also tend to live a “go big or go home” lifestyle)

Enter the “birthweek”.

I recently came across this post from “1000 Awesome Things”, which breaks down the various elements and necessary celebrations that take place throughout your “birthweek”. Having just celebrated my Quarter Century “birthweek”, I couldn’t help but compare:

1. “The Wild Party” {check, check, and check} – The party started Friday Night with a surprise FAW planned by my BFF (note, I have never had a surprise party thrown for me, was completely surprised and apparently even more gullible than I thought) My celebration continued into a Saturday of sangria in the sun which was then followed by a jello-shot Easter Egg hunt, Sunday brunch at El Vitral with loads of champagne and an insanely fun day at the ballpark.

Gloria - a birthday box of wine.

2. “Bestie’s Dinner” {check} – A fabulous evening (on my actual birthday) spent with my favorite San Diego gals at one of our local loves, Enoteca. We go for the BYOB/no corkage fee but stay for the insanely delicious pasta and Italian “Happy Birthday” serenade.

3. “The Office Party” {check} – My overly fabulous co-workers threw me an Afternoon Birthday Tea Party. Seeing as we work for a beautiful wedding magazine the table was set and styled to the nines.

Our Tea Party!

4. “The 1 on 1” {check} – This is supposed to be for that “friend” no one else can stand, however I don’t have any of those. I reserve this for the time spent with my roommate, partner in crime and BFF. We got our nails done, did some shopping and enjoyed a delicious dinner together.

This may seem excessive to some but that doesn’t bother me. You only turn 25 once, and then you turn 26, 27, 28… and I think that’s a cause for celebration. Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

